Iris & Ruby

Iris & Ruby

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3

A gripping, exotic and epic tale for fans of Dinah Jeffries and Victoria Hislop

The unexpected arrival of her willful teenage granddaughter, Ruby, brings life and disorder to 82-year-old Iris Black's old house in Cairo. Ruby, driven away from England by her fraught relationship with her own mother, is seeking refuge with the grandmother she hasn't seen for years.

An unlikely bond develops as Ruby helps Iris document her fading memories of the glittering, cosmopolitan Cairo of World War Two, and of her one true love - the enigmatic Captain Xan Molyneux - whom she lost to the ravages of war.

This lost love shaped Iris's past - and will affect Ruby's future in ways they could not have imagined...

Publisher: Toronto : McArthur & Company, c2006.
ISBN: 9780007173549
9781552785737
Branch Call Number: THO
Characteristics: 425 p.
Alternative Title: Iris and Ruby

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

8
8217549
Nov 07, 2011

i have very mixed filling about this book. i liked it a lot. it captivating page turner but there was something wanting in the end. something missing.

s
Sisbot
Aug 10, 2011

Romance Novel Award (RNA) Winner 2007.

A good book. I enjoyed the character development and the journey in Cairo wartime. Recommend.

j
jalger
Aug 21, 2008

This is a fantastic story of a grandmother and granddaughter. It takes place in Cairo and really sheds light on this fabulous city from a very long time ago (the grandmother's story and perspective) and modern day (the granddaughter's story). HIGHLY recommend.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ORL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top