Playing Through

Playing Through

A Year of Life and Links Along the Scottish Coast

Book - 2002
Rate this:
In the tradition of Peter Mayle and James Dodson'sFinal Rounds, Curtis Gillespie gives us a delightful and heartwarming story of people, place, and golf. In this funny, wise, and moving book, Curtis Gillespie chronicles the year he spent with his family among the gorse and heather of Gullane, Scotland, site of this year's Open. Gillespie had hoped to golf at Gullane with his father, who died several years before, and the memory of his father provides the catalyst for both Gillespie's trip and the book. He writes affectionately about place, family, life, the obsessive nature of golf, and the personalities who are drawn to the sport. Along the way Curtis Gillespie discovers how much he owes his father -- and finds a rich sense of belonging among the local courses and the people who play them.Playing Throughis a warm and wonderfully told memoir that transcends the boundaries of travel and sports writing. From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: Toronto : Doubleday Canada, 2002.
ISBN: 9780385658812
0385658818
Branch Call Number: 796.352 GIL
Characteristics: 311 p.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at ORL.

Try searching for Playing Through to see if ORL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top