The Bear Ate your Sandwich

The Bear Ate your Sandwich

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
8
1
Rate this:
Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . A sly classic-in-the-making for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems.
 
By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich.
But you may not know how it happened.
So let me tell you.
It all started with the bear . . .
 
So begins Julia Sarcone-Roach's delicious tale of a bear, lost in the city, who happens upon an unattended sandwich in the park. The bear's journey from forest to city and back home again is full of happy accidents, funny encounters, and sensory delights. The story is so engrossing, it's not until the very end that we begin to suspect this is a TALL tale.
 
The wonderfully told story, spectacular illustrations, and surprise ending make this Julia Sarcone-Roach's best book to date. You'll want to share it with your friends (and keep a close eye on your lunch).

Praise for The Bear Ate Your Sandwich:

***Winner of an Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Honor Award!***

"This story is mischief-making at its finest. And just like a good sandwich, it's hard to resist." -  Book Page

"Charming" -- The Wall Street Journal

"While the bear storyline is entertaining in itself, the ending twist will equally delight kids who love to spot untruths, and a second reading for hints as to the narrator's credibility may well be in order." --  The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, S tarred review
Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, c2015.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780375858604
Branch Call Number: SAR
Characteristics: 1 v. (unpaged) : col. ill. ; 21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

w
wildct2003
Feb 16, 2017

Excellent pictures and story. Fun to read.

c
CarpeBooksKirkland
Dec 27, 2016

A great books with wonderful drawings to talk about with your child

JCLKatieS Dec 14, 2015

What a fun adventure for a mischievous (and hungry) bear! Take your kids on the wild ride from forest to city as a curious bear finds himself happily stranded in a new place full of sights and sounds unfamiliar to him. But watch out! Because he may just eat your sandwich!

l
lwgowin
Nov 11, 2015

Beautiful illustrations, clever story.

CRRL_CraigGraziano Jun 25, 2015

Part of the book's magic is in the expressiveness of the bear's eyes, which range from a natural look to almost cartoony.

Read more at: http://www.librarypoint.org/bear_ate_your_sandwich_sarcone

ChristchurchLib May 25, 2015

A guilty dog relates how a bear wandered out of the forest, became lost in the city and consumed an unattended sandwich before returning home, in a whimsical tall tale by the award-winning author of Subway Story.

Picture books newsletter May 2015

m
mmcbeth29
May 11, 2015

A little girl leaves her sandwich on a park bench while she goes to play. Someone comes along and eats that sandwich. But OF COURSE he didn't eat it. He explains to the girl how it was a bear that ate the sandwich. The story of the bear is quite lengthy including how the bear left the forest and how he spent his time in the city before coming along and finding the delicious sandwich. Then the bear disappears again back into the forest never to be seen again.

The illustrations were created in acrylic paint. I docked a star because many of the illustrations are quite muddy making it difficult to discern the details. If all of the illustrations were large like the front cover, this would be a 5star plus rating. The author is obviously a talented artist and the front cover is an example of this.

I loved the story. I especially enjoyed how the story of the bear was drawn out with so many details including what he enjoyed about the city and how he saw it as a new forest. The author used humor nicely to help us enjoy the lengthiness of the story. I loved the surprise ending most of all which makes you want to laugh out loud. Ages 4-8 would enjoy this story the most.

PimaLib_BeccaB May 07, 2015

Beautifully illustrated with a clever ending.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

m
mmcbeth29
May 11, 2015

mmcbeth29 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 4 and 8

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ORL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top