The Penderwicks in Spring

The Penderwicks in Spring

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
8
1
1
Rate this:
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.

Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty's new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.

Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what's hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.
Publisher: New York : Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2015.
Edition: 1st ed..
ISBN: 9780307930989
9780375870774
Branch Call Number: BIR
Characteristics: 339 p. ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

LiztheLibrarian Feb 12, 2018

The series is a fantastic series for any lover of realistic fiction and some mild hi-jinks and adventure. You will fall in love with the four Penderwick sisters.

c
cocobellamonkey
Jan 24, 2018

i loved this book though i missed Jane,Skye and Rosalinds point of view but Batty makes up for it
the time change surprised me at first but when i got used to it it was awesome

1
1010eh
Jul 09, 2017

My favorite Penderwick book, although I missed the voices of Skye and Rosalind. A realistic but satisfying conclusion too.

s
SenaDoling
Jan 28, 2017

A wonderful conclusion to the Penderwick stories, and beautifully written. I miss the point of views of Rosalind, Skye and Jane, but Batty's is fine, and Ben and Lydia are wonderful additions to the family.

c
carnefamily
Jul 06, 2016

I loved this book just as much as the three previous books. The story picks up about five years after the last book left off, so it is a little hard to get used to the idea that everyone is quite a bit older, but Jeanne Birdsall does a masterful job of telling the story of this family and keeping personalities true to the original story. Everyone should read this book!

b
blue_wolf_1165
Dec 20, 2015

I have already read this book maybe 5 times. I cried sooo much every single time

m
martha_w
Jul 06, 2015

Lovelovelovelovelove this series to pieces, and this latest installment made me cry to an extent that is perhaps embarrassing. It leaps forward 5.5 years from the events of book 3, which I was initially unsure of, but I shouldn't have worried, because Jeanne Birdsall clearly knows what she's doing. I missed getting the perspectives of the older Penderwick sisters but they were still very much present, and I loved the focus on Batty. My lone complaint is that a storyline in this book is very closely following one from Little Women (a book to which this series is already frequently compared) and I'm really hoping that book 5 gives a different resolution to this storyline than the (almost universally unpopular) one found in Alcott's book.

Very minor quibble, though; I loved this book and read it in half a day and still can't stop thinking about it. Discovering this series has been one of the best things to happen to me this year.

The Penderwicks are back! If you haven't met this family and their friends yet, you'll want to start with the first book in the series (The Penderwicks: a summer tale of four sisters, two rabbits, and a very interesting boy). In this latest book, several years have gone by, and Batty is now in grade 5 and dealing with lots of changes and secrets. An excellent family read-aloud also available as an audiobook-- perfect for a summer road trip!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

c
cocobellamonkey
Jan 24, 2018

cocobellamonkey thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 14

Summary

Add a Summary

This bright, flowery book will have you laughing to bits and crying to pieces, as you dive back into the thrilling life of the Penderwicks. This spring, Batty is planning a special surprise for her family on her eleventh birthday, but when old wounds are dug up, and terrible secrets kept hidden, the last thing anyone wants is a celebration.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ORL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top