On the Surface of Things

On the Surface of Things

Images of the Extraordinary in Science

Book - 1997
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A rare collaboration between artist and scientist, On the Surface of Things explores the hidden visual splendor of scientific phenomena, from cutting-edge nanotechnology to DNA sequencing. Photographer Felice Frankel, artist-in-residence at MIT, teamed up with George M. Whitesides, world-renowned Harvard University chemistry professor, to capture on film the chance explosions of beauty and color that occur when one surface meets another -- on both the micro- and macroscopic levels. How many electrons can dance on the head of a pin? What do DNA strands look like when chased by an electrical charge? Using innovative photographic technology, Frankel finds startling abstract beauty in the undulations of liquid crystal film, the gymnastics of plastic microstructures, the migratory trudge of bacteria, and other scientific wonders. Whitesides's accompanying text is lucid, engaging, and even poetic as he explains each photograph, describing why and how these phenomena occur. In the tradition of The Powers of Ten, On the Surface of Things will excite curious minds and intrigue anyone with an appreciation for photography or unique forms of natural beauty.
Publisher: San Francisco : Chronicle Books, 1997.
ISBN: 9780811813716
Branch Call Number: 530.417 FRA
Characteristics: p. cm.
Additional Contributors: Whitesides, G. M.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at ORL.

Try searching for On the Surface of Things to see if ORL owns related versions of the work.

Suggest for Purchase

To Top